Connect with us

International Football

Concacaf & Conmebol, new tournaments and announcements


What was announced even before the World Cup in Qatar, received official confirmation from the confederations CONMEBOL (South America) and CONCACAF (North and Central America) for the joint organization of the continental tournament (Copa America) in 2024 in which all ten countries from South America and the six best from the neighbouring confederation will participate.

Embed from Getty Images

Four women’s national teams from CONMEBOL will be able to play in the CONCACAF tournament (Concacaf W Gold Cup), and a new club competition will also be made. It is intended for this competition to be played as a final four between the two best teams from CONMEBOL and the two best teams from CONCACAF. Teams will qualify for this new competition through their current continental competitions.

The last Copa America in the USA was played in 2016 (won by the Chilean national team) when the 100th anniversary of the first Copa America was celebrated.

The United States, Mexico, and Canada will co-host the 2026 FIFA World Cup. Argentina will defend both Copa America (which it won in 2021) and the World Cup (which it won in 2022).

Due to poor stadiums and infrastructure problems, Ecuador withdrew from the running to host the 2024 Copa America in November. Subsequently, the United States came forward, and according to information from Fox there, the offer was accepted.

This means that the South American Championship, like in 2016, will move a bit further north and with an increased number of participants than usual.

16 teams will compete (10 are from CONMEBOL), and in addition to the USA, Canada, and Mexico, who were already invited, three more selections from the CONCACAF zone will receive invitations.

In the tournament six years ago, in addition to the USA and Mexico, there were also Costa Rica, Jamaica, Haiti, and Panama. Argentina, as well as Brazil, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela, are certain to participate from the South American selections.

Lionel Messi won a big trophy for the first time while wearing the national team jersey at the last Copa America. This year in Qatar, he conquered the world with Argentina, and now remain the big question is whether one of the best football players of all time will participate in the next edition of the Copa America, as he once said that the World Cup is his final tournament in the national jersey.

By the way, the tournament was supposed to take place in 2023, but it was postponed by a year to coincide with the European Championship, which will be held in Germany at the same time. The start of both tournaments is planned for June 14, 2024, and the final of the Copa America on July 13, while the Euro should end a day later.

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Christina Gallagher

    February 14, 2023 at 8:37 am

    I very delighted to find this internet site on bing, just what I was searching for as well saved to fav

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in International Football